About us

Reading Operatic Society has been entertaining Berkshire and Oxfordshire audiences with opera, operettas and musical comedies for many years and, in more recent times, mainstream musical theatre shows. To see our list of credits view the past shows page here.

We perform one show each year at The Hexagon Theatre in Reading with a second show in another venue, most recently the historic Kenton Theatre in Henley-on-Thames. We are a lively and friendly group that is committed to bringing high quality performances and wish to encourage new members of all ages and levels of experience and ability to join.

If you are interested and enthusiastic, come and join us, even if you have never been involved in musical theatre of any kind before.

We rehearse at 7.45 pm-10.30pm on Monday and Thursday evenings, as well as on some Sundays at St Peter’s Church Hall, Earley.

If you would like to join the Society as a chorus member, a potential principal, help back stage or front of house come along to Earley St Peter’s Church Hall where you will be sure of a warm welcome, or contact the Membership Secretary on membership@readingops.co.uk

Q&A

Does the name Reading Operatic Society mean you only perform opera?
No, we perform modern West End and Broadway musicals and as well as operettas.

How often and where do you perform?
We perform two shows each year, one at The Hexagon Theatre, Reading with the other production performed at the Kenton Theatre in Henley-on-Thames.

I can’t sing but can I join?
Yes, please do join in. There are numerous, important backstage and front-of-house roles that need filling to make every show a success. You will have a skill we can use!

How often do you rehearse?
Weekly at Earley St Peter’s Church Hall on Church Road in Earley. The frequency of rehearsals increases when we are in the run into productions (see our How To Join page for more details).

How can I find out more about Reading Operatic Society’s musical theatre programme?
Look around our website here or telephone Yvonne on 0118 948 4602 or Julia on 0118 948 2438

Officers and committee

President
Barrie Theobald
barrie@readingops.co.uk
Chairman
Yvonne Maynard
yvonne@readingops.co.uk
Vice Chairman
Kim Hollamby
kim@readingops.co.uk
Secretary
Nicola Morrin
secretary@readingops.co.uk
Treasurer
Nigel Dawes
treasurer@readingops.co.uk
Membership Secretary
David Parsonson
membership@readingops.co.uk
Friends’ Secretary
Lindsay Hall
lindsay@readingops.co.uk

Members
Sam Prior
Nicola Jaggar
Julia Sadler
Rhiannon Rowlands
Ryan Stevens